The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

Real Visa Or Scam

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: rsaca

Hello, I have been in contact with a
russian girl for one year. She is suposed to be a student, in her last year, next to finsh.
We decided that she travell to be with me, to Spain, but she asks me for 400 $ for the visa that will arrange the state passport visa service. I sent her an invitation, that seems to be enough, acording to the consulate, to get the visa to Madrid. She lives in Nevinnomyssk and have no consulte there, only Moscow.
Her letters seemed to be sincere, and she never asked for money or anything material.
She said she will open a bank account tomorrow, to receive the money.
What do you think, a scam?. 400 $ seem to be too much for a visa, or not?.
Thanks for your answers and be lucky with your girls.'



Posted by: Pin Boy

DON'T SEND ONE THIN DIME!!!

RULE #1, 2, 3, 4, AND 5

NEVER SEND MONEY TO ANYONE YOU HAVE NEVER MET.

This is a classic scam.

Now you say you have communicated for a year. Have you spoken on the phone? Do you have a home address? Do you have any non-professional photos of her (not always a reality test, but often)?

Many "women" will write to a man for along time before setting the hook and reeling in the fish.

You haven't given much details, but I'd be very very wary! Good luck.

Pin Boy



Posted by: rsaca

I never phoned her because she does not speak english or spanish, only changed mails. She sent me all kind of photos, some good, some bad, and from the first mail she told me she was divorced. I have her adress, and sent there her invitation.
Tomorrow I will ask for her phone number, just to see what happens, because I already have it , I found the number looking for her mail in internet, and found and advertisement to sell her old car some months before she began to mail me.



Posted by: Pin Boy

even if you do not speak the same language you can find a third party to translate...i smell a rat here...one year and no phone calls...how is she communicating with you now?

there are flower delivery services that will deliver flowers to the home and take a photo of your (hopefully) lady receiving the flowers in her home and forward the photo to you...this is a good way to verify the authenticity of the woman....check the topics here on this site for flower delivery, calling cards, etc

again, don't send any money!!!! seems like you need to learn more about each other.

pb



Posted by: rsaca

Good advice!, I think before sending any money, will sent her some flowers and ask for a photo of the moment, that is possible??, I will look for it in the forum. Do you know of a link that offers this service?.
Thank you very much!.



Posted by: lester

Try this, rsaca,

http://www.roses.ru/

There are links to various florists in the network.

Good luck,
lester.



Posted by: Bud with AFA

rsaca

$400 is too much for her to have to pay for a visa. This a scam...be very careful...

Bud with AFA



Posted by: Skinman569

Doesnt sound good, from my experience RW wont ask for money from anyone less than family. My fiancee lives alone with her daughter, hasnt worked since her birth. Never asked me for money, I even offered thinking maybe she was a scammer but she never even acknowledged that she saw this. We emailed for about 2 months before phone conversations. After knowing her for 4 months I arranged to visit. Spent 3 weeks living with her. I knew she was the "one", proposed on valentines day 2005. I leave on monday april 18 to marry her. only after she agreed to be my wife would she accept money, she is my responsibility now. If I am being scammed, I hope it lasts forever!



Russian America Top. Рейтинг ресурсов Русской Америки. Рейтинг@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2008, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.