The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

Anyone know Marina Smyrnova from Biysk,Altay,Siberia,scammer? Please help!

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: Virginiajoe

I was contacted by Marina Smyrnova on Yahoo personals,red flag,I know! We have been talking for a month,she sends e-mail everyday and lots of photos,even a photo of her in a bikini at lake Baikal,I told her I know about Russian women who want money from westerners for visas,plane tickets,or their mother died and they have medical bills,she dosen't want my money she says,she claims she works for the Russian Tax Department in Biysk,which is in Siberia,she says she got her visa paperwork ok,I heard it is impossible to get a tourist visa if you are a Russian single women,she says she loves me very much and wants a healthy life for her family as ecology is very bad with all the factories in Siberia,Biysk,etc. I told her I will not send her money,she even sent me a e-mail about her mothers birthday this weekend! It's all very strange,I have grown attached and look forward to her e-mails every day,I don't know what to think anymore,I went to stop-scammers.com and she's not on it,I have been trying to get her telephone number,that's the next step to see if she is for rea,if she was Russian government,would that make her chances greater for getting a visa to the US?
E-mail me at joefisher1972@yahoo.com if you can help,she has brown,reddish hair,most beautiful eyes you have ever seen,26 years old,father died in a plant there in Biysk. I appreciate anyhelp you can give me,this is all very strange to me!



Posted by: lester

Look familiar to you

Marina Smyrnova Russia Biysk Lenin Street 12-10

only a quick check, proceed with caution!

this may only be co-incidence, needs thorough search.



Posted by: Virginiajoe

That is it! I saw it on russian-flowers.com black list,I just don't know what to think,what do you think she is trying to do since she can't get my money,I told her i'm not giving her any! Thanks for the reply,I am even more skeptical of Marina now,Lenin Street,yeah right! Thanks again for the information.



Posted by: lester

Remember, this was only a quick check.

there are many marina smyrnova/smirnova listings
on anti scam sites.

you will need to check out thoroughly.

email check is the best way to confirm whether
or not she is genuine, or someone is using her
identity.
also try to airmail her, and have her write back.



Posted by: Virginiajoe

Thanks for the reply,I did send her a letter with some pictures and she said do as you must but mail is often stolen here. Her e-mail is strange too it ends in popret.com,is that even a Russian e-mail provider,I think ropret is,I checked on google,regardless,Marina seems like a very sweet girl but very mysterious,maybe that's why I am still instersted,I want send her any money that's for sure,thanks my friend,I really apprecaite it!



Posted by: Pin Boy

in my opinion she keeps writing to you because she hopes to eventually break you down...the man's thinking being, "oh well, to me 20/50/100 dollars - whatever - is not much" and then they go ahead and send it and then the scammer is emboldened by the success and the snowball gets bigger - maybe not with you - but then the scammer moves on to the next mark....hold your ground...you sound like you're trying to rationalize what you know in your mind is not there....good luck and welcome

pin boy



Posted by: Virginiajoe

How do I do a e-mail check on her? I am just trying to be rational about all this,it's just so hard to believe a young women would put this much effort into a few bucks,don't they have hobbies?



Posted by: Pin Boy

this IS their hobby...and it may not even be a girl!!!



Posted by: Virginiajoe

That is true,I have checked every scam list I can find and she is not on it or he! I think we are all nuts including me! This is too feaky,I am on vacation this week just sitting around the house,I will remember this as the Russian vacation sort of,too cold to travel so i am just staying home drinking beer and chillin' on the computer! Again how do you do a e-mail check?



Posted by: Pin Boy

maybe someone else will help you with this...my techno skills are SEVERLy limited...by the way, welcome

pin boy

and remember the #1 rule - NEVER SEND MONEY TO ANYONE YOU'VE NEVER MET

pin boy



Posted by: Jill

I think Leprechaun can tell you how to do an e-mail check. Try sending him a PM.



Russian America Top. Рейтинг ресурсов Русской Америки. Рейтинг@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2008, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.