The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

First signs of a scam - picture included-

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: DefBringer

Ok, first, here is the picture.




I am surprised to see that she was in America so recently as August of this year. Obviously, something is fishy here. I asked her what she was doing in America, I'm waiting for her response. I thought it was hard for Russians to visit the US?

I met this girl on freepersonals.ru. So far, I think most of the people I've talked to here are legitimate, or at least have made efforts to come across legitimate.

Another issue. She has sent me two pictures other than the ones on the website. I am not 100% certain it is the same girl. Also, she says her name is Natalie...but both of the pictures she has emailed me are named Natasha1 or Natasha2.



Posted by: DefBringer

Does this seem like a scam to you too?

We're about 8 emails deep right now, still in the beginning stages, but no mention of money yet.



Posted by: Jerico

Maybe she was here on a student visa or something.
I had a Russian girl write me a letter and she lived nearby and went to a college about 18 miles away from me.
She was in a group of foreign students , all from Russia I believe.
I never met her because when she wrote me a letter she left with the group to France for schooling for 6 months.
SO this is possible in your scenario.

Also Natalie and natasha could be considered the same name in Russia perhaps so thats no big deal IMHO.
It sounds legit at this point to me.
Jerry



Posted by: sidney

DefBringer I was unable to open your link. I was wondering if it was the same Natali that I know from Ukraine and now in Cleveland. I also have a photo.
Sid



Posted by: DefBringer

Quote:
Originally posted by sidney
DefBringer I was unable to open your link. I was wondering if it was the same Natali that I know from Ukraine and now in Cleveland. I also have a photo.
Sid


Sidney, since you cannot see her picture, she is tall and thin with shoulder length brown-auburn hair. She looks to be pretty young, I'd say 21-25 years old.



Posted by: Jill

Maybe I've missed something...But what makes you think this is scam?

Jerico is right. There are many possible explanations for her being in the States (there are work-study programs, for example, that are pretty common, there are study programs, and it is sometimes possible for Russian women to get tourist visas).

And Natalia and Natasha are the same name. Natasha is the "short," less formal form. Like calling a Catherine by the name Cathy.



Posted by: sidney

This is a different Natali. I also asked how she came to America and for how long but have not received answers yet.
Sid



Posted by: DefBringer

Quote:
Originally posted by Jill
Maybe I've missed something...But what makes you think this is scam?

Jerico is right. There are many possible explanations for her being in the States (there are work-study programs, for example, that are pretty common, there are study programs, and it is sometimes possible for Russian women to get tourist visas).

And Natalia and Natasha are the same name. Natasha is the "short," less formal form. Like calling a Catherine by the name Cathy.


Well, I had thought it was impossible for people to get visas to come to the states.

My fault!



Posted by: Jill

It is usuallly very difficult--no doubt about that. But it's not impossible.

You may end up finding out that it is a scam--but from what you've posted here, I don't see anything concrete. There could be an innocent explanation for her trip to the US. Have you gotten a response from her yet?



Posted by: DefBringer

Quote:
Originally posted by Jill
It is usuallly very difficult--no doubt about that. But it's not impossible.

You may end up finding out that it is a scam--but from what you've posted here, I don't see anything concrete. There could be an innocent explanation for her trip to the US. Have you gotten a response from her yet?


It's been 4 days since I sent my reply asking her when she has been to the United States and if she had fun when she was here.

I guess I don't know why sometimes a girl can respond to email 3 times in a week and other times it is once a week, if that. Makes me skeptical of this whole business, actually.



Posted by: James Riske

I'm a photographer and the picture looks photoshopped to me.

Too much light from her side, the camera would have flashed at night and the flashed light doesn't show up on her front or right side. The lines on the right side of her hip don't look right nor does the area of light on the side of her hair.

She's wearing the typical garb of a Russian 'disco queen', ridiculous at that. She dresses like she's 13 years old, typical of 20 something Russian women.

There are so many scams out there, I don't blame you for being cautious.

The best way to do all this is to go there in person for at least a couple weeks, sign up with a dating agency while you're there, and then meet two a day until you narrow it down to two or three that you like and who like you too and then concentrate on them. It's just a waste of time to write to them first and then arrange a trip to only see them.

Avoid the 'disco queens' like the plague.



Russian America Top. Рейтинг ресурсов Русской Америки. Рейтинг@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2008, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.