The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

Anthea Agency

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: GentleGiant

I received my user name and password for this site a few days ago, and a welcome letter followed the next day by tonnes of "Letter Waiting" notifications.

So why am I mentioning this?

BECAUSE I NEVER SIGNED UP WITH THEM!!

Hell, I had never even heard of them!! I ended up at Jim's Lists checking them out (They are on the "Black List"; along with a story similar to mine.

They are "Lifting" profiles from other sites and adding them to their own!!

I would advise anyone coming across this site to stay well clear.



Posted by: goforit

Hmmm...I recently had that with Silver Rain. Starting receiving profile info and letter notifications and I had never signed up.



Posted by: Chrismc

How do they get your email address? if they only lift profiles from another site?



Posted by: GentleGiant

I dont know, hacked the site perhaps?? I use several different email address's for different things, and this is being sent to my "dating" email, although right now I am "exclusive" with Ria.

I deleted my profile from bride.ru a few weeks back, but they are still sending me daily updates, so they have kept my details, perhaps they have been hacked.



Posted by: goforit

I think some lady I was writing to had her email address hijacked and mine along with whoever else was in her contacts.



Posted by: Raspberry

And it seems like a bit of deception, as far as the name goes. "Anthea" is a similar name to "Athena"---which is a legit agency. Same with "Carmen" (Lugansk)which people were duped into thinking it was "Karmen"(legit agency in Volgograd).



Posted by: Raspberry

Quote:
Originally Posted by goforit
Hmmm...I recently had that with Silver Rain. Starting receiving profile info and letter notifications and I had never signed up.


Is there an agency called Silver Rain? The only Silver Rain I know of is a group of Russian radio stations by that name.....



Posted by: goforit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raspberry
Is there an agency called Silver Rain? The only Silver Rain I know of is a group of Russian radio stations by that name.....


I don't know. I have never clicked through on one of their links.



Russian America Top. Рейтинг ресурсов Русской Америки. Рейтинг@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2008, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.