The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

possible repeat peformance

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: origspanky

Hi all,

I received an email from a lady, living outside of Moscow, who says that she found me on match.com (which I had joined ealier in the week). We have been corresponding by e-mail since. At one point she mentioned a band by the name of TATU, and a particular song as well, “ do not trust, be not afraid, do not ask ”. at which point I started poking about. In my search, I ran across some posts in a thread on this site from a user here (named lookingformo??) from last year. To my surprise, the letters he posted (and I'm not going to repeat them now) looked very similar. The lady's name was changed as were some sections of the letters that she wrote. Up until last night, I thought I may have a good thing, now I'm not so sure.

Does anyone know the outcome of the thread I saw? Is it possible this may be a scam? she has not asked fo money yet, and says she would like to visit me for a month, and has the money to do so. I didn't see any red flags until I saw phrases from her emails in those posts that were a dead on match.

any advice would be helpful

thanks



Posted by: ira156

Quote:
Originally Posted by origspanky
Hi all,

I received an email from a lady, living outside of Moscow, who says that she found me on match.com (which I had joined ealier in the week). We have been corresponding by e-mail since. At one point she mentioned a band by the name of TATU, and a particular song as well, “ do not trust, be not afraid, do not ask ”. at which point I started poking about. In my search, I ran across some posts in a thread on this site from a user here (named lookingformo??) from last year. To my surprise, the letters he posted (and I'm not going to repeat them now) looked very similar. The lady's name was changed as were some sections of the letters that she wrote. Up until last night, I thought I may have a good thing, now I'm not so sure.

Does anyone know the outcome of the thread I saw? Is it possible this may be a scam? she has not asked fo money yet, and says she would like to visit me for a month, and has the money to do so. I didn't see any red flags until I saw phrases from her emails in those posts that were a dead on match.

any advice would be helpful

thanks

Tread carefully spanky. But you see phrases repeated constantly on forums and in life in general. Someone sees a phrase they like and uses it again. Just look for the red flags and take your time ....but she may be the one ....you never know. If it was just the words from a song i wouldnt worry to much.



Posted by: firemansam

Quote:
Originally Posted by origspanky
she has not asked fo money yet, and says she would like to visit me for a month,

Highly improbable that this will be possible..... Tourist Visa's are not so easy to come by from the FSU.

But you never know....

My first thought is that there will come the email, sometime in the future: "My love, I am at the airport ready to fly to you but I need US$857 or they shall not let me leave Russia to come to you..... You will send it to me so I can be in your arms?"

As Ira said, take your time, use your big head and NEVER send money



Posted by: origspanky

Hi Ira and Fireman

First I will say that it wasn't words in the song that were repeated (this would not be too bothersome in my mind, as different people may like and quote the same song for the same or different purposes), it was the complete sections of different email letters from what appears to be two senders with two different names that has me questioning things. From what I saw, there were sections that looked like the same words, in the same order, in similar positions in the letter, and very close to the same layout of the text. Also, the letters seemed to follow the same delivery order as well.

too many coincidences for me.



Posted by: salvatore

That is how I found myself here on RMP. I had just signed up for match and got an e-mail from a RW. I figured it was a scam when I got it and played along to see how it would play out. 6 e-mails and few weeks later and she was stranded in Moscow and needed $1300 to get her visa to come to my airport (which she never mentioned by name in any of her e-mails no matter how I tried to get her to say it)
I would say that if you are on match in your local community and randomly got an e-mail from a Russian admirer that is it most likely a scam.



Posted by: rk288

Ditto...my first scam of 3 was out of the blue on Match.com. I ended up calling the embassy in my naivete at the time. That's when I started my education. I didn't send that one any money...even after the "$50.00 phone call routine"...that one was followed closely by "I have my visa..." and "I am at the Moscow airport, I have my tickets, but..."

Pick a city that you would like to visit. St Pete is the best. Research it and the local agencies...don't pay for letters...go there for a wonderful vacation, meet someone, have a good time and then go back a few more times to be sure.

It's not going to happen overnight no matter how good the letters and phone conversations are...

Do you have a lot of "disposable income"??? You are going to need it...and then some more...

RK



Posted by: rk288

P.S.

Aren't those swimsuit photos a killer?????

RK



Posted by: salvatore

Quote:
Originally Posted by rk288
P.S.

Aren't those swimsuit photos a killer?????

RK

There is one girl on elenasmodels that is topless in the picture! She's turned away from the camera obviously but come on! If I were a weaker man I would be on the first plane to see this girl and just hand my wallet over at the airport.



Posted by: Chrismc

Sounds like there are a lot of dodgy ladies on Match.com then.....I have never used them, but I have heard many say over time they have had problems with that site?



Posted by: Ade

Hi,

Do be careful - as others have already said, it does look a nit dodgy. See how your next few emails pan out - and maybe suggest that you could visit her, as the reaction to that may reveal a lot.

Good luck, and keep safe,

Ade



Posted by: origspanky

I appreciate the responses. Now to avoid trouble, I will think up one of those other women or some such thing to back out.



Russian America Top. Ðåéòèíã ðåñóðñîâ Ðóññêîé Àìåðèêè. Ðåéòèíã@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2008, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.