The Russian Meeting Place: A place to meet people and talk about all things Russian...

International Discussions about Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Travel, Music, Russian News, Ukrainian culture, Belarusian Dating, Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Kiev and other intelligent topics about life in the former Soviet Union.

     


                                

              

Pages: 1

Russian Dating Site Scam (receiving a flood of emails from Russian women from agency)

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: Christian

IBefore I signed to this forum I joined Anastasia, a Russian bride site. I posted my pic and profile and within 8 hours received over 180 messages from Russian ladies. The website wants US$8 for me to reply to each message. I anyones language, this is a lot of money. I can't help thinking this is a scam as I cannot believe that so many Russian ladies have such fast access to the internet, and if they have access at all. I believe the website is simply dumping pre-written generic lettes on me. Has anyone else here had the same problem?



Posted by: searcher

I'm not sure and I wouldn't want to give you wrong information but I do remember reading something about "AnastasiaWeb" not to be confused with "Anastasia".

There was something posted about "AnastasiaWeb" in the Yahoo discussion groups. So, you might want to inquire there.



Posted by: spamer

I have just read about a guy who claims to been scam by a web site with that name in it. Come to think of it, I have read a lot of negative post about that web site. or one with that name it it.



Posted by: rtking

I had met my ex-fiancee on Anastasiaweb. I think they are OK, but expensive. Last year, I think it was $6 per letter. And the agencies will edit-out any attempt to send email addresses across. But telephone numbers are OK.

Overall, I think Anastasiaweb may be OK, but what I found was the agencies that received the letters for these ladies (and translated for them) would send you letters without the lady knowing about it. I received probably 4 or 5 letters that my ex-fiancee had never written.

As with anything, I think you'll need to be careful when corresponding with women. I think there are very good and honest agencies out there, and there are others that aren't as honest. I would like to think that Anastasiaweb is honest and it's just the agency in the FSU that's causing problems, but I can't corroborate that one way or the other.

After that experience, I can honestly say tha you're probably a little safer corresponding with a woman directly. I would recommend going to a website that has a lot of good reviews or a website that will sell the email address or telephone number outright.



Russian America Top. Рейтинг ресурсов Русской Америки. Рейтинг@Mail.ru Russian Network USA



Russian Meeting Place Copyright ©2000 - 2009, www.russianmeetingplace.com and Khahsyar and Lena.